

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

December 28, 2021

The Honorable Xavier Becerra Secretary U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 200 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20201

The Honorable Martin Walsh Secretary U.S. Department of Labor 200 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20210

The Honorable Janet Yellen Secretary U.S. Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20220

Dear Secretaries Becerra, Yellen, and Walsh,

We worked diligently to find a bipartisan and bicameral solution to end the practice of surprise medical billing, a process which took over two years and culminated in the passage of the No Surprises Act in December 2020. We write now to express concern regarding the independent dispute resolution (IDR) framework outlined in the interim final rule (IFR) released on September 30, entitled "Requirements Related to Surprise Billing: Part II" and ask that you amend it to align with the law that Congress passed.

According to the statute, in addition to the information brought forth by either party or requested by the arbiter and excluding billed charges and public payor information, these proceedings **shall** include consideration of:

- The median in-network rates;
- Provider training, experience, and quality of outcomes;
- Market share of arbitration parties;
- · Patient acuity or complexity of the services;
- Teaching status, case mix and scope of services of the facility; and
- Demonstrations of previous good faith efforts to negotiate in-network rates and prior contract history between the two parties over the previous four years.

With the passage of the No Surprises Act, Congress established an IDR framework that took patients out of the middle while not tilting the scales in favor of one party over the other. In no way does the statute privilege any one rate in the IDR process, but rather establishes an open and robust dispute resolution process in which each factor is given equal weighting.

Unfortunately, the IFR that the departments released in September departs from this carefully crafted approach, putting almost exclusive emphasis on the median in-network rate. The IFR states that the IDR entity is only allowed to deviate from the median in-network rate when there is "credible information about additional circumstances [that] clearly demonstrates that the [median in-network rate] is materially different from the appropriate out-of-network rate." This was not a threshold established by Congress and is not reflected in statute.

We are very concerned that the outcome of this approach will be markedly like that of a benchmark payment in clustering rates around the median in-network or below, a policy which Congress debated and ultimately rejected because of concerns it created around rural access and narrow networks. We have heard significant pushback from providers, hospitals and physicians alike, that the agencies' approach gives certain stakeholders too much control over the outcome of IDR in a manner that does not reflect the careful balance that we agreed to last December.

We urge you to revise the IFR released on September 30 to better reflect the law that Congress passed in developing a framework that protects patients while being fair to stakeholders.

Sincerely,	
/s/ Bill Cassidy, M.D.	/s/ Roger Marshall, M.D.
Bill Cassidy, M.D. United States Senator	Roger Marshall, M.D. United States Senator
/s/ Lisa Murkowski	/s/ Marsha Blackburn
Lisa Murkowski United States Senator	Marsha Blackburn United States Senator
/s/ Chuck Grassley	/s/ Tommy Tuberville
Chuck Grassley United States Senator	Tommy Tuberville United States Senator
/s/ Cindy Hyde-Smith	/s/ Kevin Cramer
Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator	Kevin Cramer United States Senator
/s/ Mike Braun	/s/ John Barrasso, M.D.
Mike Braun United States Senator	John Barrasso, M.D. United States Senator
/s/ Jerry Moran	/s/ Roger F. Wicker
Jerry Moran United States Senator	Roger F. Wicker United States Senator

/s/ Lindsey O. Graham	/s/ Rob Portman
Lindsey O. Graham	Rob Portman
United States Senator	United States Senator
/s/ M. Michael Rounds	/s/ John Hoeven
M. Michael Rounds	John Hoeven
United States Senator	United States Senator
/s/ Mitt Romney	/s/ Thom Tillis
Mitt Romney	Thom Tillis
United States Senator	United States Senator
/s/ John Boozman	/s/ Joni K. Ernst
John Boozman	Joni K. Ernst
United States Senator	United States Senator
/s/ Rand Paul, M.D.	/s/ James E. Risch
Rand Paul, M.D.	James E. Risch
United States Senator	United States Senator
/s/ Mike Crapo	/s/ James Lankford
Mike Crapo	James Lankford
United States Senator	United States Senator
/s/ James M. Inhofe	/s/ Todd Young
James M. Inhofe	Todd Young
United States Senator	United States Senator